Skip to content

SCJP Exam Preparation

November 19, 2007
tags:

Hi all,

I am preparing for the SCJP exam and started the preparation about 3 months back. Its been a very tough decision for me to kick-start the preparation but then after one of my friends made me realize that I am wasting my precious time and that it is important to get certified ASAP, I started the preparation. I am going to tell you about the journey till now (I have still not given the certification exam). In my company the certification is compulsory though and I need to get certified by the end March 2008. I guess there is enough time till then. But you never know. Sometimes people might take years to get certified. Ok what I am going to do is to update this post till I get certified regrading what decisions I made in my journey to get certified 🙂

1. So let me tell you that I finished Kathie Sierra’s book “SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 5 Study Guide (Exam 310-055) (known best book for the certification as far as I know). This book has got everything that you might need to clear the certification with good score. I have my friends her in the company most of who have scored more than 90%in the exam (one has has also scored 100% 🙂 ). So I finished this book first time in about 20 days of time. There are a total of 10 chapters.

2. Although I started taking the mock tests that are freely available on the Internet. I tried Enthuware and whizlabs tests. But I did not get the expected score (average 70%). The reason obviously being that I probably did not remember all the details properly that are there in the book. So today I decided to re-read the book and then probably will take the mock exams again. Let’s see what happens…….

3. I am glad to announce that today I am nearly going to complete the whole book. I have already read till the 9th chapter half way and hope o complete the book by end of next weak (I would have completed it this weekend itself but then I have some prior appointments, so won’t be able to make it.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

