Skip to content

`bin_path’: can’t find executable rake for rake-0.8.7 (Gem::Exception)

December 4, 2010

Well after a long time, I finally had to shift back to ROR development on Windows. I am running on Windows Vista, Rails 3, ruby 1.9.2. Things are not all that bad on windows, or at least, not as much as I thought they might be. But, we definitely keep on facing problems here and there. There is one such which you also might face if you try development on Rails 3 with ruby 1.9.2. There seems to be a bug with the gems that are installed with the one click windows ruby installer. I am not sure why, but you may lead to see the following error message once you start using rake:

`bin_path’: can’t find executable rake for rake-0.8.7 (Gem::Exception)

Now the solution to get away from this bug as of this writing is that you will have to remove the rake.gemspec file from the “your_path_to\Ruby192\lib\ruby\gems\1.9.1\specifications” folder.

And you are good to go now. I do not have really too much time to dig into the matter as to why this might be happening, but it worked for me.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Ernesto permalink
    December 19, 2010 4:49 am

    Thanks a TON for this. I’m *not* a Rails developer and was just muddling through some stuff to get a JavaScript build tool working and was scratching my head on why I was getting this error. You totally solved the prob. Thanks.

  2. Francisco Alves permalink
    December 19, 2010 5:37 pm

    Thank you very much!
    This solved my problem.

  3. Chris Lemcke permalink
    January 6, 2011 9:49 pm

    Thanks! This was very helpful.

  4. Meirion permalink
    January 12, 2011 10:35 am

    Thanks for your post.
    I’m having similar problems.
    I’m on W7, Rails 3 and Ruby 1.9.2 with the Ruby Installer. I was tying to install spork to speed up my rspec tests – but read that I’d need to install the Ruby Installer devkit. After doing so, spork still would not compile a gem, but also my rake was broken!

    I’m seeing this now:
    c:/Ruby192/lib/ruby/1.9.1/rubygems.rb:340:in `bin_path': can’t find executable rake for rake-0.8.7 (Gem::Exception)
    from c:/Ruby192/bin/rake:19:in `’

    I’ve tried deleting that rake.gemspec file but it makes no difference. Any other suggestions?
    Thanks,
    Meirion

    • February 22, 2011 12:45 am

      I am also having this problem. Have you had any luck with it Meirion?

  5. Peter Dickson permalink
    February 3, 2011 12:22 pm

    Thanks. Fixed the same problem in OS X too!

    Pete

  6. Sami Bashraheel permalink
    February 5, 2011 12:01 am

    Thanks Sanjeev. Headache gone now.

  7. Beltran permalink
    February 7, 2011 4:49 pm

    Thanks, it helps me too.

  8. Sanjeev Mishra permalink*
    February 8, 2011 5:17 am

    Good to know that it helped some people…. :D

  9. kewin wang permalink
    March 4, 2011 1:32 pm

    Good job This method is surprising work now haha

  10. March 25, 2011 10:01 am

    Try this with superuser rights:
    $ gem update –system
    It can help because “…after a long time…” and rubygems was updated and could not find executable for new not-compatible-with-old-version-of-rubygems rake-gem

  11. May 24, 2011 7:55 am

    just safed my day! Thanks

  12. James permalink
    May 31, 2011 1:32 pm

    Thanks! :)

  13. Petarda permalink
    December 1, 2011 8:34 am

    good post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers

